Worst Case Scenario

I’m homeless.

Not in the sense that I don’t have a physical building with a bed in it to retire to at the end of the day, because I do.  I’m homeless in the sense that “at home” can be defined as “relaxed and comfortable; at ease.”  My lease in my current apartment is up and I’m searching for a place to call home for September 1st.

For those of you that are doing the same, I offer you my condolences.

Apartment hunting is like on-line dating.  Both parties have a fairly good idea of what the other is like through basic e-mail exchange and when you finally meet in person you either think to yourself, “hmm…maybe…” or “this is going to be the longest 30 minutes of my life…”  You awkwardly compare and contrast daily routines, the types of chores you enjoy, and what kind of foods you like to cook.  You try to envision yourself in the unfamiliar space without the current roommate’s stuff, and wonder if you’ll ever find a good fit.

And then you wait.  And either receive a “hey sorry we chose someone else” or “hey you’re awesome but you have pets” e-mail.

Ah yes.  The reality of choosing to be a pet owner in an apartment world.  Good luck.

I’ve heard there are the “hey we pick you for our roommate” e-mails but I have yet to receive one.  I believe it’s like seeing a Yeti.  It exists only because someone claims they saw it.  I’m still waiting for scientific proof.

It can be stressful to say the least.  I’ve lost many hours and many days to the quest to find a great living situation.  I believe it exists.  I don’t believe I need to settle for something that feels bad to me out of desperation.

Lately I’ve been playing the Worst Case Scenario game.  It makes me realize that even in the direst of circumstances, life really does go on and things are always bound to improve.  If I don’t find a place September 1st, I’ll put my stuff in storage and the animals and I will couch-surf for a few weeks.  If I can’t find a place that will take pets I’ll have a friend foster them for a while.  If I can’t find a place close to my work and friends, I’ll rent something with a bit of a longer commute temporarily.  That’s the whole thing with renting.  It’s temporary.

That’s the whole thing with stress.  It’s temporary.  As long as you allow it to be.

Have you ever played the Worst Case Scenario game?

2 thoughts on “Worst Case Scenario

  1. Ok, ready for the strangest….??

    I was going to text you this morning about spare furniture that we have. Not sure if you are in need of any? If you are let me know and I’ll give you the scoop on what I need to move from a home in NH.

    J

Leave a Reply

