Just Keep Swimming

One of my favorite movies is Finding Nemo.  Dori is up there on my list of favorite individuals.  Dori’s philosophy is a great one.

Just keep swimming.

As mentioned in a previous post, I’ve been looking for a place to live and have been finding it quite challenging.  It is difficult to rent with pets in the Boston area.  Last week I was 99.9% sure I had a place secured to live in an amazing and huge apartment.  I was really excited about the prospect of finally having a place to settle into…until the landlord decided to keep the apartment pet free.

I was getting to the end of my rope with a month and a half of searching and September 1st creeping up so it was time to call my “last resort” apartment.  My friends are moving out of a place that is decently priced but really inconvenient in a lot of ways and I had worked out a plan to move in to their place if all else failed.  The afternoon I was ready to call the landlord I got a text from the current tentants that the landlord had decided they were no longer allowed to use the driveway during the week.  That would mean I would have to rent a parking space which would make it not worth the money to rent the apartment.

Tearing…my…hair…out.

Last night I sat in my livingroom staring at my stuff and wondering what I was going to do.  My boyfriend tried to assure me that the current apartments were not working out because the best space for me was on the horizon.  Logically and in my gut I knew that he was right but in the moment I just felt very defeated and sad about the whole process.

This morning I woke up and began the search again.  I didn’t want to do it but I knew the only way was to just keep plugging at it.  And then the phone rang.  And I usually don’t pick up the phone if I don’t recognize the number but something in me decided I should.  It was a landlord asking me if I wanted a room that I was sure I had been passed over for.

The stormcloud that had been hovering over my head was immediately dispersed by rays of sunshine.

It has taken a lot of e-mails.  A lot of phone calls.  A lot of awkward roommate dates.  A lot of soul searching (which is never a bad thing).  But now I have an amazing place to live.  I feel good about the next step.  My animals have a place to live that they will be welcomed into.  And my plants will even have a nice porch to thrive on!

Just keep swimming.  Trust the process.  Don’t give up.  Whatever philosophy inspires you to keep going when times get tough, stick with it.  It’s a lifelong need.

Leave a Reply

