Rock Me Like a Hurricane

This week the east coast had an unpleasant encounter with Sandy.  In some areas she was a bit irritating and inconvenient.  In other areas she was downright devastating.  The storm gave me a lot of time indoors and a lot of time to think about the things in my life that are really important.

Houses can be knocked down in a hurricane.  Trees can be uprooted.  Supplies can be used up.  Electricity can be shut off.  The environment around us is in a constant state of flux, sometimes in a little way and sometimes in a big way.  I feel lucky to have my yoga as a resource that is with me always and cannot be taken away.  The hours I spend on my mat are part of me.  I have honed my patience and created peace of mind through the doorway of my physical body.  I have mourned loss and birthed new ideas.  I have learned when to push myself and when to be easy.

The yoga is not only a catalyst for change but is also something that helps me to feel good on a regular basis.  When I feel good consistently it makes it so much easier to deal with difficult situations as they inevitably show up.  Just as it’s easier to deal with a storm when the dead tree branches are trimmed, the house in good shape, and the cupboards are stocked with supplies, making myself a priority on a regular basis is much more effective then scrambling to fix everything I’ve neglected when crisis hits.

Sometimes people think it’s selfish to take time out for themselves during the day when there is so many other things around them constantly demanding their attention.  It’s important to remember that taking care of yourself is not only good for you, but is also good for those around you.  When you’ve got it together, it makes it much easier to help others.  Taking care of yourself will give you the energy and the strength and the positive attitude to make yourself a good resource to others.

Keep those that were hit hard by Sandy in your thoughts.  Lend a hand where you can.  But remember, even in the face of tragedy, that while material things can be destroyed, your mind and body are with you always and can get you through even the toughest situations.  Take care of SELF and the rest will come together in time.

Leave a Reply

