New Year’s Resolutions

The last of the Christmas cookies have been gobbled, trees are starting to find their fate curbside, and couch cushions have started to mold themselves to the shape of our backsides.  Right around the corner is a New Year, promising new beginnings, new resolutions, a new YOU.

Right behind it is reality.

Every year we make resolutions.  I want to lose the 10 pounds I gained during the holidays.  I want to go to the gym every day.  I want to cut out all sugar in my diet.

We do pretty well in January, and then have the tendency to fall off the wagon in February largely because of disappointment we did not reach the goal we had set for ourselves.

I challenge you to think about things a little differently this year.

We tell our students in Paschimottanasana (stretching pose) that the “goal is to touch your head to your feet.” Now, does that mean if students cannot touch their head to their feet they are not getting any benefit from the posture?  No.  The benefit comes from simply TRYING to attain the goal.  By working toward touching their head to their feet they are getting the positive effects from the posture.  Whether they ever meet the goal or not is not important.

I did a yoga challenge this year, to do 28 classes in the 33 days between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I ended up completing 27 classes.  Some people may look at that and consider it a failure, I was so close to my goal!  But for me, the reason for doing the challenge in the first place was to put my yoga and taking care of myself at the top of my list during the holiday season.  Post-holidays I feel amazing, grounded, and stepping up my yoga practice has created more offshoots of awareness and self-care in the rest of my life.  Even though I did not reach my goal, I was able to achieve the positive things I wanted for myself on the way to the goal.

So this year, when you are making your goals for the New Year, take it one step further.  If your goal is to lose 10 lbs, take a moment to think about the things that you want to achieve from the goal.  More energy?  More self-confidence?  Back to a routine after the holidays?  Keep these things in mind on your way to your goal.  Are you beating yourself up about not losing weight as fast as you want to but are you starting to feel more energy during the day?  Are you starting to feel better about the choices you are making?  These are all things to take note on your journey.  Remember, the goal is just to put you on a particular track, it’s the steps you take along the way and the experiences you have there that will stay with you.

What resolutions are you making?  What do you wish for yourself in the New Year?

Whatever goals you set for yourself, I wish you enjoyment along the way and a very happy 2013!

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

  1. My goal is to do yoga every day, but I end up doing it about 5-6 times a week. I think that isn’t bad. And if I set my goal at 5 then I would probably only do 3. So great job to you and you 27 days! I am going to try and give up soda this year (not really as a “New Year’s” thing) just to be more healthy.

Leave a Reply

